TUESDAY, MAY 31, 2016 - THURSDAY, JUNE 2, 2016

The Danforth Center Scientific retreat will take place over three days and two nights at the YMCA Trout Lodge in Potosi, MO. Accommodations are provided by the Danforth Center. The retreat will focus on scientific presentations and ethics development and will provide an array of social opportunities for the staff. 

YMCA Trout Lodge is located in Potosi, MO and is 75 miles from from St. Louis. Carpooling to the retreat is recommended. 
Follow your GPS directions to Potosi* (using 21 South to 8 West) - continue on Hwy 8W through the town of Potosi for 10 more miles.  Turn right onto Highway AA.  The entrance to Trout Lodge is almost 3 miles down on the right. Lost? Call the Trout Lodge front desk at 573-438-2154.
*NOTE: use GPS only to get you to Potosi.  Depending on the gps device, you will be directed to a house further down Highway AA or the Boy Scout Camp at the south end of our lake.  Use the directions above after getting to Potosi.

Location Information: YMCA Trout Lodge

Cell phone service: There is an AT&T tower in the area and this is the only cell phone service provider that works.  Please give the front desk number (573) 438-2154 to those that might need to reach you.  The front desk will deliver messages to our group.

Fun things to do: More free time is incorporated into the schedule this year and there are numerous (both free and paid) activities offered at Trout Lodge which features a lake (boating and fishing), mud cave, tennis courts, paintball course, mini-golf course, and a ranch on the property.

Karaoke:  The golden microphone trophy is up for grabs again! The Danforth “Idol” karaoke competition will take place during social time (starting at 8:30 pm) on Wednesday.  For those labs/groups interested in preparing songs ahead of time, you can view the DJ’s available selection or from the internal link we set up

Scientific Retreat Agenda:

 Tuesday, May 31, 2016
2:00-2:45 PM  Arrival/Sign-In (Mallard Meeting rooms) 2nd floor
Poster set-up in Hillcrest Hall
2:45-3:00 PM Coffee break
3:00-3:20 PM Internal talk #1
3:20-3:40 PM Internal talk #2
3:40-4:00 PM Internal talk #3
4:00-5:00 PM Room check in
5:00-6:00 PM Plenary Talk
Richard Vierstra, Washington University
6:00-6:45 PM Dinner in Dining Hall - 4th floor (must arrive by 6:15)
7:00-8:30 PM Poster session #1 in Hillcrest Hall
8:30-10:30 PM Free Time
Organized Activity #1 bonfire/smores
Organized Activity #2 games
 Wednesday, June 1, 2016
8:00 AM-8:45 AM  Breakfast in Dining Hall - 4th floor (must arrive by 8:15)
9:00-9:20 AM Internal talk #4
9:20-9:40 AM Internal talk #5
9:40-10:00 AM Internal talk #6
10:00-10:20 AM Coffee break
10:20-12:00 AM RCR session
12:00-12:45 AM Lunch in Dining Hall - 4th floor (must arrive by 12:15)
1:00-4:00 PM Free time
Organized Activity #1
Organized Activity #2
4:00-5:00 PM Plenary Talk
Magdalena Bezanilla, University of Massachusetts at Amherst
5:00-5:20 PM Internal talk #7
5:20-5:40 PM Internal talk #8
6:00-6:45 PM Dinner in Dining Hall - 4th floor (must arrive by 6:15)
7:00-8:30 PM Poster session #2 in Hillcrest Hall
8:30-10:30 PM Free time
Organized Activity #1 Karaoke  (Mallard 4)
Organized Activity #2 
Thursday, June 2, 2016
8:00-8:45 AM Breakfast in Dining Hall 4th floor (must arrive by 8:15)
8:00-9:00 AM Room check out
9:30-10:30 AM
Round table discussion (Mallard)
10:30-10:40 AM Coffee break
10:40-11:00 AM Internal talk #9
11:00-11:20 AM Internal talk #10 
11:20-11:40 AM Internal talk #11
11:40-12:00 PM Closing/announcement of best poster and talk prizes
12:00-12:45 PM Lunch in Dining Hall 4th floor (must arrive by 12:15)
1:00 PM Departure for St. Louis


Room assignments (non-interns are noted in brackets):
Room 506: Emily Holcomb, Halley Fowler, Stephanie Theiss
Room 3001: Sarah Bell, Lynsey Kovar, Morgan Fuehne, Allison Huskey, Laura Krings, Kari Miller
Room 3002: Abby Eaker, Molly Kuhs, Sylvia Wilson, Hannah Thomas, Tina Zudock,  Rebekah Mohn,   Monica Tessman
Room 3101: Armahni Fearn, Aiden Estelle, Blake Oakley, Luke Hayden, Dave Stroshein, Nick Talmo
Room 3102: Stephen Plassmeyer, Trevor Manz, Jacob Roth, Michael Miller, Raj Singh